Why are schools brainwashing our children?  “Protesting oil pipelines, celebrating polygamy: is the new ‘social justice’ agenda in class pushing politics at the expense of learning?”

I remember grade 6 about 20 years ago in Toronto.  It was the first time I attended a public school.  At that time, environmentalism was the main emphasis in the classroom.  All of our class projects drove this topic home, literally.  We did projects on “acid rain,” the evil of landfills, the destructive forestry industry, poachers in the 3rd world, and tigers on the verge of extinction.  I remember watching two videos on how “clear cutting” of forests would lead to an insufficient oxygen supply on Earth, and at least four David Suzuki videos.  These topics are almost the only ones I remember from that short year (my parents pulled us out of public school after four months because they noticed such a negative impact on our behaviour, although I think that was more from peer influence than the teacher’s agenda).

That was 20 years ago.  And it’s likely that my teacher was pushing her agenda more than other teachers did.  So the question is, what kind of special projects are kids doing in school today?  How is this social justice agenda showing up in your home?  And most importantly, what kinds of things can you do as a parent to counteract the influence?

